Sabotaging Rape Culture

Action Against Sexism by Diké:

A distant relative of my husband was our guest for a while. He once lectured my teenage daughter who loves fashion: “Say two girls are walking in the street, one wearing a traditional outfit, the other American jeans. Which one do you think will get raped first?”

Brilliant demonstration. Too bad I heard.

So I shouted back: “First, a woman doesn’t get raped, she is raped. Second, wearing traditional clothes doesn’t protect women from rapists and violent men. Third, don’t you dare to tell my kid that if one day she was victim of a crime, she should feel guilty about it!”.

I’m not sure he got the point, but my daughter did.

3 thoughts on “Sabotaging Rape Culture

  1. Actually traditional clothes are easy to tear off, unlike close fitted trousers and tops. So the rapist will go for a woman with long hair which can be easily grasped and pulled, clothes which are easy to tear. The argument is flawed

  2. what a ‘wonderful’ mentality! “Who will get raped first?” Wow!! I’m so glad that you put your foot down! He should be ashamed of himself for speaking like that to a child!

Leave a Reply

